The Tournament

This year, the IPT will be composed of two separate events, the usual tournament you are all familiar with, and the IPT Conference. The two formats are quite independent and students can participate in either of them or even both! The purpose of this page is to explain the rules of the Virtual Tournament.

Links to Physics Fights

Welcome room + Jury Briefing

Jury Briefing will start 30 minutes before the Physics Fight!
(China 19:30, India 17:00, Pakistan 16:30, Ukraine+Russia 14:30, FR+DE+SL 13:30, Colombia+US 6:30)

Fight Rooms

Team members and Jury should connect to one of 5 separate rooms according to Team Allocation and Jury Schedule.
Room 1: (chairman – Evgenii Glushkov)
Room 2: (chairman – Sebastian Fava)
Room 3: (chairman – Nikolay Lysenko)
Room 4: (chairman – David Collomb)
Room 5: (chairman – Anastasiia Vasylchenkova)

The Virtual Tournament

The virtual tournament will follow the general rules of the tournament you are familiar with, but with some important modifications in order to make it compatible with the new online format.

Each team will be given 5 permanent rejections, which have to be announced before the first physics fight. To balance this, each team will only have 2 tactical rejections per physics fight, which are used as normal.

Additionally, the role of the Reviewer is removed for the physics fights, meaning each physics fight is between 2 teams only, with Reporter and Opponent roles as usual.

The Final will be with 3 teams and run with the standard IPT format.


In order to register for the online tournament, the normal procedure applies. Get in contact with your IOC representative or, if you don’t have one, apply as a single team by getting in touch directly with the Execom through this form.

Exceptionally, all students who obtained a master degree (or equivalent) in April 2020 or later will still be allowed to participate.

Registered teams (alphabetically)

  1. China China – Nankai University
  2. Colombia Colombia – winners of the Colombian national selectionUniversidad Industrial de Santander
  3. France France – winners of the French national selection: ENSTA Paris
  4. Germany Germany – Winners of the German national selection: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universit√§t M√ľnchen
  5. India India – winners of the Indian national selection: IISER Bhopal
  6. Pakistan Pakistan – SNS and NUST Islamabad
  7. Russian Federation Russia – winners of the Russian national selection: Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology
  8. Slovenia Slovenia – University of Ljubljana
  9. Ukraine Ukraine – Winners of the Ukranian national selection: University of Kharkiv 
  10. United States USA – winners of the American national selection: Rice University

The timetable of one round in PF

For this edition of the tournament, we will have physics fights involving two teams instead of the usual three. There will be only the role of reporter and opponent. Here is the time schedule (timing) of a physics fight.
Each team in every Physics Fight will be given 1-minute timeout that can be used anytime, except stage performances (presentation & speech).

You can visit the Schedule page here.