Registered Teams

Teams registered to the online tournament (by registration date):

  1. Poland Poland – University of Warsaw
  2. Cameroon Cameroon
  3. Iran, Islamic Republic of Iran – Winners of the Iranian national selection
  4. Nigeria Nigeria
  5. Brazil Brazil – Winners of the Brazilian national selection: University of Campinas
  6. Bangladesh Bangladesh – Winners of the Bangladeshi national selection
  7. Colombia Colombia – Winners of the Colombian national selectionUniversidad Industrial de Santander
  8. Pakistan Pakistan – SNS and NUST Islamabad
  9. Greece Greece – Winners of the Greek national selection: National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
  10. Denmark Denmark – Technical University of Denmark
  11. India India – Winners of the Indian national selection: IISER Bhopal
  12. China China – Nankai Univesity
  13. Ukraine Ukraine – Winners of the Ukranian national selection: University of Kharkiv 
  14. France France – Winners of the French national selection: ENSTA Paris
  15. Croatia Croatia – Winners of the Croatian national selection: Sveučilište u Zagrebu
  16. United States Minor Outlying Islands USA – Winners of the American national selection: Rice University
  17. Russian Federation Russia – Winners of the Russian national selection: Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology
  18. Switzerland Switzerland – Winners of the Swiss national selection: ETH Zürich
  19. Italy Italy – Winners of the Italian national selection: Università di Bologna
  20. Sweden Sweden – Winners of the Swedish national selection: KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  21. Australia Australia – University of Queensland
  22. Germany Germany – Winners of the German national selection: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  23. United Kingdom United Kingdom – Winners of the British national selection : University of Cambridge
  24. Canada Canada – McGill University
  25. Singapore Singapore – National University of Singapore
  26. Slovenia Slovenia – University of Ljubljana

Registration is now closed!


For the tournament to take place in Poland we have 21 seats available. Of these 21 seats, 7 are already reserved for the semifinalists and finalists of the 2019 edition (Ukraine, France, Russia, Colombia, Switzerland and Sweden) and Poland, the host for 2020. In this case, the other 19 teams are required to participate in the international preselection which we explain below. Of the 19, the 14 teams with the best reports will fill the spots for the IPT. In the case of dropouts, the empty seats will be distributed following the preselection ranking.

Preselection problems

We remind that the preselection reports must be sent to only. Reports must not contain any reference to the country which authored it. This year’s problems for preselection are:

  • 2 – Precious Energy
  • 3 – Paper tube
  • 14 – Jumping bean

Teams with a national selection, in addition to the problems above, can also choose:

  • 1 – Cumulative cannon
  • 6 – Planetary clock

The winner of the national tournament wins their country’s seat in the tournament, should they also pass the international pre-selection stage. Please also note that the pre-selection stage is free. Teams have until January 22nd to send their preselection reports. An example report is available on this page, along with all rules of preselection. We wish you all good luck and hope to see you in Poland!